With the college 12 months starting in particular person for a lot of districts round Lubbock and throughout the state, the Texas Division of Public Security is reminding the general public of steps they’ll take to maintain college students and workers members protected.
This contains slowing down in college zones, staying off cell telephones and being conscious always whereas round college buses.
“Going again to college is an thrilling time for college kids, dad and mom and workers, however it’s paramount that drivers are extra alert when round buses and colleges,” mentioned DPS Director Steven McCraw. “I urge everybody on the highway to be proactive and assist guarantee kids arrive to and from college safely each day.”
DPS presents the next ideas for college security:
· Give college students further room and don’t assume they’re being attentive to visitors. College students are ceaselessly distracted by cell gadgets or listening on digital gadgets and will not be being attentive to their environment.
· Don’t block a crosswalk when stopped at a pink mild or cease signal.
· Observe the instructions of college crossing guards.
· Watch for kids on bicycles touring to and from colleges.
· Cut back velocity once you spot a college bus and know kids might unexpectedly step into the highway with out checking for oncoming visitors.
· Watch out round railroad crossings. College buses are legally required to cease at them.
· Know legal guidelines relating to college buses. In line with Texas legislation, if a bus has alternating flashing pink indicators seen from the entrance or rear, drivers MUST cease earlier than reaching the bus. Drivers can solely proceed if the flashing lights are now not activated, the driving force indicators you to proceed or the bus has resumed driving. Approaching drivers do NOT should cease for a college bus that’s working a visible sign if the highway is separated by a bodily barrier or an intervening house. If a freeway is solely divided by a left-turn lane, it’s not thought-about divided and drivers should cease for college buses.
· Drivers who illegally go a college bus face fines as much as $1,250 for the primary offense. For folks convicted of the offense greater than as soon as, the legislation permits for the particular person’s driver license to be suspended for as much as six months. A ticket for this offense can’t be dismissed by way of defensive driving. Prison costs are doable if a driver causes somebody severe bodily damage.
· All the time obey velocity limits and visitors legal guidelines in college zones.
· Keep in mind, texting whereas driving is prohibited in Texas.