In August of final 12 months, the New Jersey state legislature handed a invoice supposed to create safer situations for bicyclists and pedestrians on New Jersey roads.
The New Jersey Protected Passing Legislation provides extra necessities for drivers when passing cyclists, pedestrians, and people driving motorized scooters or wheelchairs.
This new legislation took impact on March 1st, with a full training and public consciousness marketing campaign quickly to observe.
Right here’s a fast overview of the legislation’s necessities and the way they could result in safer situations for pedestrians, cyclists, and others all through New Jersey.
Guaranteeing driver security
As COVID-19 restrictions lifted and extra drivers returned to the highway final 12 months, pedestrian and bicycle owner deaths rose to sobering new ranges.
In 2021, 223 pedestrians have been killed on New Jersey roadways—the highest number of pedestrian fatalities in over 30 years. Bicycle owner fatalities have additionally risen in every of the previous two years, and the overall variety of vehicle-related deaths rose to a degree the state hadn’t seen since 2007.
In mild of those statistics, the necessity for higher roadway security measures is evident. The New Jersey Protected Passing Legislation will hopefully function an essential step towards better security for New Jersey cyclists and pedestrians.
The brand new legislation
New Jersey’s Safe Passing Law lays out just a few simple however essential new necessities for drivers.
The legislation applies particularly to drivers who’re approaching a pedestrian, bicyclist, scooter rider, or somebody utilizing “some other lawful private conveyance” in “an space designated for pedestrians or these conveyances” (i.e., a crosswalk, bicycle lane, walkway on the shoulder of the highway, and many others.). On this state of affairs, drivers are actually required to:
Transfer over one lane to permit for further house at any time when it’s doable and secure to take action
If it’s not doable to soundly or lawfully transfer over one lane, drivers should permit for at the least 4 ft of house whereas approaching and passing
If neither transferring over nor permitting 4 ft of house is feasible with out violating visitors legal guidelines or in any other case jeopardizing security, drivers should scale back the velocity of their car to 25 miles per hour and be ready to cease if mandatory
No matter whether or not they’ve taken the steps listed above, drivers should additionally chorus from passing until “passing doesn’t endanger the protection of a pedestrian, operator of [a] private conveyance, or some other individual on the roadway.”
Drivers who’re discovered to have violated the New Jersey Protected Passing Legislation will probably be fined $100 if the violation doesn’t lead to private harm.
If the violation does lead to bodily harm to a pedestrian, bicycle owner, or one other particular person utilizing the roadway, the motive force will probably be fined $500 and assessed two motorized vehicle penalty factors.