Ask a Trooper by Troy Christianson
Query: Is there a presentation offered by legislation enforcement for brand new teenage drivers? Can a driver, beneath the age of 18 with a sound allow, tow a trailer in Minnesota?
Reply: A driver who’s beneath the age of 18 with a sound allow or provisional driver’s license might function a automobile towing a single trailer so long as they adjust to all the license restrictions and necessities. If towing a leisure automobile mixture of three, the operator needs to be at the very least 18 years of age. Please remember that this can be a Minnesota legislation and might not be authorized if touring into different states. If you’re planning on touring by means of different states, test with their officers on their state towing legal guidelines.
Teen driver security
The graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) legislation requires driver teaching programs to supply a 90-minute class for folks of teenagers who’re within the strategy of acquiring instruction permits and provisional driver’s licenses. This class supplies info relating to teen driving dangers, teen driving legal guidelines and grownup influences on teen driver behaviors.
The father or mother consciousness class is vital to understanding as we speak’s teen driving dangers, Minnesota’s teen driving legal guidelines and easy methods to assist your teen develop into a safer driver. As a father or mother, don’t put comfort forward of security. Simply because teenagers have their licenses doesn’t imply they’re prepared for each driving state of affairs. Mother and father ought to proceed to oversee their teenagers driving after they’re licensed.
The GDL legislation additionally requires that college students beneath the age of 18 submit a supervised driving log to the motive force examination workers on the time of the street check for the provisional driver’s license. The log should confirm the coed accomplished 50 hours of supervised driving time, 15 of which should be nighttime hours. If a father or mother/guardian completes the father or mother class and submits a certificates of completion to the motive force examination workers on the time of the street check, or if it was submitted when making use of for an instruction allow, 40 hours of supervised driving time are required, 15 of which should be nighttime hours.
The important thing to creating safer teen drivers is to supply supervised expertise — a whole lot of “windshield time,” talk about driving obligations along with your teen, set up clear household driving guidelines and comply with by means of with penalties when warranted. We encourage dad and mom to apply with their youngsters properly past the minimal necessities of the legislation to make sure they’re ready to drive in lots of driving and climate circumstances. The additional required driving apply hours and the supervised driving log assist teen drivers develop into extra skilled and assist dad and mom observe progress and areas to enhance.
For extra info on teen driving and legal guidelines, go to: https://dps.mn.gov/DIVISIONS/OTS/TEEN-DRIVING/Pages/default.aspx
You’ll be able to keep away from a ticket — and a crash — should you merely buckle up, drive at protected speeds, listen and at all times drive sober. Assist us drive Minnesota towards zero deaths.
You probably have any questions regarding traffic-related legal guidelines or points in Minnesota, ship your inquiries to Sgt. Troy Christianson, Minnesota State Patrol, at 2900 forty eighth St. NW, Rochester, MN 55901-5848; or attain him at Troy.Christianson@state.mn.us.
Troy Christianson is a sergeant with the Minnesota State Patrol.