Search Illinois DWI Records
Enter Name to Search for DWI Records:
Illinois DWI Laws
In the state of Illinois, a DUI (driving under the influence) offense means a driver is found
driving while drunk or under the influence of drugs. Illinois has an aggressive anti-DUI program
and last year more than 50,000 drivers were arrested under the offence of DUI.
Illinois’ DUI laws can be understood by reading the Secretary of State’s very informative DUI
As per the Illinois driving laws, if your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher,
you are legally drunk and it is illegal for you to drive. If you are driving with a BAC between
0.05 and 0.08, you may still be cited for a DUI if your behavior suggests you are impaired. This
may be determined by the officer citing you. If the BAC is found to be between 0.05 and 0.08,
the Statutory Summary Suspension is not imposed immediately; rather, the penalties are decided
and imposed by the court after the proceedings.
Statutory Summary Suspension
If a law enforcement officer stops you and finds out that your BAC is 0.08 or more, your license
shall be suspended with immediate effect for a period of 180 days. You will be taken to jail and
after the bail procedure is completed, you will be allowed to continue driving and you will be
given time to fight the arrest and suspension. The suspension snaps into effect on the 46th day
after your arrest. If you are convicted for DUI, your license will be suspended for one year for
the first offense. In case your age is less than 21 years, the license suspension shall be for two
Consequences of Refusing a Test
The state laws allow you to refuse testing of your blood, breath, or urine. This refusal to allow
testing results in severe penalties under the Statutory Summary Suspension law:
In the test if your BAC is found to be above 0.08, the suspension is for 180 days for a
first offense and 12 months for a second offense.
If you use your right and refuse the test, the suspension will be for one year for the first
time and three years the second time.
Illinois commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders face even stiffer penalties.
Ignition Interlock Devices
A Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) is installed on your vehicle if you are
convicted first time of a DUI offense. Approximately $100 installation fee and additionally the
monthly rental and monitoring fees of about $110 shall be borne by you.
The State of Illinois imposes substantial financial and other penalties on drivers who are
convicted of driving drunk. Illinois estimates that the minimum cost of a first DUI conviction is
over $14,000. Repeated offences will cause higher expenses and fourth conviction results in:
Lifetime revocation of the driver’s license
Up to three years in prison
And fines up to $25,000
Search Illinois County DWI Records
De Witt County
Jo Daviess County
Rock Island County
St. Clair County
Search DWI records, DUI records, Drunk Driving Records and other Criminal Driving Arrests
Enter a first and last name into the form above and start searching for people’s public information. With a few clicks, find everything from someone’s arrest records and financial data to their tattoos. Check up on new business prospects, new girlfriends or boyfriends, see if your babysitter is a big drinker or see if you should really be lending your neighbor your car.
This type of service, until recently, has been available only to private investigators, but now with search engine technology has been connected with the massive public databases. You can access county, state and federal records easily.
Beyond letting you find DWI records, searches can include any of the following:
- DUI Records
- Current and Past Addresses
- Arrest Records
- Court Warrants
- Phone Records
- State Tax Liens
- Property Records
- Age and Date of Birth
- Maiden Name
- Bankruptcy Records
- Relatives and Neighbors
- Roommates and Co-Workers
- Tatoos, Scars or Other Marks
- Life, Death, and Birth Records
- Marriages and Divorce Records
- Unclaimed Money