Driving below the affect of medicine or alcohol comes with vital penalties in Maine, one in every of which is paying a excessive automobile insurance coverage premium. Maine drivers who’re convicted of a DUI will see a mean automobile insurance coverage fee enhance of 92%, which is barely decrease than the USA nationwide common enhance of 99%.
In 2018, there have been 137 traffic-related fatalities in Maine, 49 of which concerned alcohol. Which means that alcohol was concerned in 36% of all site visitors deaths. Understanding Maine’s DUI legal guidelines and the way having a DUI or DWI conviction might have an effect on your automobile insurance coverage may assist you to make extra knowledgeable choices about your protection.
DUI legal guidelines in Maine
Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher is taken into account to be working a car below the affect in Maine. In case you are convicted, you’ll probably face penalties that depend upon the particular circumstances of your offense.
After a primary DUI in Maine, your license will probably be conditional for as much as a yr. With any subsequent offenses, you may be required to keep up a conditional license for 10 years.
Should you get a DWI in Maine, additionally, you will most likely should pay a positive. For a primary offense, the positive is $500. The positive will increase for every subsequent DUI conviction. After 4 or extra prices, the positive could also be as excessive as $2,500. Jail time can be a risk with a Maine DUI, however the size of time varies based mostly on the variety of offenses you could have dedicated and whether or not you consented to a breathalyzer check.
There are specific aggravating elements that might have an effect on your DUI penalties. These embrace a BAC of 0.15 or extra, driving 30 mph or extra over the velocity restrict and having a passenger below 21 years of age in your car.
How a DUI impacts your automobile insurance coverage in Maine
One of many greatest costs associated with a DUI is paying a excessive automobile insurance coverage premium. Should you get a DUI in Maine, you possibly can anticipate your automobile insurance coverage premium to extend by a mean of 92%, which is decrease than the nationwide common fee enhance of 99%.
The desk under reveals the common annual full protection fee enhance after a DUI in Maine, in comparison with the nationwide common:
|Pre-DUI||Publish DUI||P.c enhance|
When you have a DUI in your report in Maine, you might be more likely to be thought of high-risk by insurance coverage firms. Suppliers enhance premiums to compensate for the added threat of insuring you. In some circumstances, insurance coverage firms might decline to put in writing a coverage for you in any respect.
You may additionally have to file an SR-22 kind to be able to reinstate your license after a DUI conviction. An SR-22 is a kind that your insurance coverage firm will file with the Maine BMV to show that you’re sustaining the required ranges of automobile insurance coverage protection.
Discovering automobile insurance coverage after a DUI in Maine
It’s potential to search out reasonably priced car insurance with a DUI, however it may be more difficult. Some firms don’t write insurance policies for high-risk drivers. Even with firms that may write protection for drivers with a DUI, it is best to anticipate that your premium might be affected by your conviction.
Bankrate obtained premium data from Quadrant Data Providers for among the main insurance coverage carriers in Maine. Under are the businesses’ common annual full protection premiums after a DUI:
|Automobile insurance coverage firm||Common annual premium after a DUI|
Among the best methods to search out automobile insurance coverage after a DUI in Maine is to buy round, examine suppliers utilizing your private standards and get a number of quotes. In case you are struggling to discover a automobile insurance coverage firm to insure you, you might need to get quotes from insurance coverage suppliers specializing in non-standard insurance coverage, as they could be extra more likely to approve a coverage.
Ceaselessly requested questions
How will a DUI in Maine impression my legal report?
Driving below the affect is illegitimate in Maine, as it’s in most states, and can present up in your legal report. You’ll probably be fined, have your license suspended and will face jail time and different penalties.
How can I get a less expensive automobile insurance coverage fee after a Maine DUI?
Discovering low-cost insurance coverage after a DUI could also be tougher, however there are methods to decrease your premium. Getting quotes from a number of suppliers may assist you discover a firm that may supply the bottom fee for the sort and quantity of protection you want. You may additionally need to analysis insurance coverage suppliers that supply a number of reductions you possibly can benefit from. Many insurance coverage firms will decrease your fee in the event you pay your annual premium in full, bundle your house and auto insurance coverage coverage or join paperless statements.
How a lot does automobile insurance coverage value in Maine?
The average cost of car insurance in Maine is $294 yearly for minimal protection and $965 per yr for full protection. Maine has the most affordable automobile insurance coverage charges within the nation. Nevertheless, in case you have a DUI or different site visitors violation in your report, you’ll typically pay the next fee. Drivers in Maine pay a mean of $1,855 per yr for full protection after a DUI.
Bankrate makes use of Quadrant Data Providers to research 2021 charges for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted charges are based mostly on a 40-year-old female and male driver with a clear driving report, good credit score and the next full protection limits:
- $100,000 bodily harm legal responsibility per particular person
- $300,000 bodily harm legal responsibility per accident
- $50,000 property harm legal responsibility per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily harm per particular person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily harm per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 complete deductible
To find out minimal protection limits, Bankrate used minimal coverages that meet every state’s necessities. Our base profile drivers personal a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute 5 days every week and drive 12,000 miles yearly.
These are pattern charges and may solely be used for comparative functions.
Incident: Charges had been calculated by evaluating our base profile with the next incidents utilized: clear report (base), at-fault accident, single dashing ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in protection.